Chapel Hill Public Library

A department of the Town of Chapel Hill

Book Reviews

Browse by Title

Browse by Rating

Titles Beginning with T

tangerine by edward bloor
star star star star
Tangerine was a great book. it was about a boy named paul who learns about friendship, family and death. paul learns not to always compare himself to his brother erik. he also learns that acceptance isn't always what you want when your friends are being hurt.
Reviewed by Ruby, age 12
Submitted July 25th, 2006
Tank Talbott's Guide to Girls by Dori Hillestad Butler
star star
Straight off, I will say that this is from a girl. So of course, it will be insulting but entertaining book. it really gives us girls a look at what some 11 year old boys think of us. it is about a boy who is flunking fifth grade and will have to write in a book all summer and take math lessons. Tank (the boy) hates girls and when his arch enemy, his step sister Mollie comes to visit, he starts a guide book for boys about girls and there lifes which therefore starts a war that ends in an unpredictable way.
Reviewed by Helen, age 11
Submitted June 18th, 2006
Teen Idol by Meg Cabot
star star star star star
Jenny Greenley is the girl everyone loves- she's nice to everyone, and she's the secret "Annie" from the school newspaper's advice column, "Ask Annie." Then one day, she's called to the principal's office. It turns out that movie star Luke Striker is coming to their school! He's going to play a part in a high school in Indiana, where they live, so he wanted to see how teenagers act. Jenny is asked to show him around the school. What Jenny didn't expect was for him to become friends with her, so much that he asks her to the spring fling! That's when Jenny has to decide who she really loves. To top it all off, she has to help Cara "Cow" Scholosburg with her social problems, free a doll from being held hostage, and put up with show choir. It's almost too much for a girl to handle! It's a funny novel that you won't want to put down after you start reading it!
Reviewed by Priyanka, age 12
Submitted June 21st, 2006
The Amazing Days of Abby Hayes:Two Heads are Better Than One by Anne Mazer
star star star star
Abby's home sick when when a major science project comes up at school (something that can raise her grade). Each person has to pair up with another 5th grader in the other class. but while Abby is out sick she gets paired with a.......BOY! Not only that but after seeing her pale sick face in the mirror she cuts her hair trying to make herself look better but ends up looking even worse. How will Abby handle all this? Read this book to find out, plus if you enjoy it, it's in a series so you can keep on reading them all summer!
Reviewed by aubrie, age 11
Submitted July 6th, 2006
The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket
star star star
In this story, many sad thing happen to three children, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny. They have to go to a boarding school called "Prufrock Prepatory School." It's motto is "Memento Mori", Latin for "Remember you will die." Every day they have to go to a very bad violin player's, the Vice Principal, recital for 6 hours or they will have to buy him a bag of candy and watch him eat it. The also have to put off with crabs, fungi and this really rude girl called Carmelita Spats. Count Olaf, the 3 children's enemy, comes disguised as a coach and at the end runs off with the 3 children's best friends. I think it is a good read and everyone should read it at least once.
Reviewed by Yu, age 10
Submitted July 20th, 2006
The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
star star star
This book is about three children, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, who stay with Count Olaf because their parents died in a fire. Olaf gives them one room and really hard chores. At the end, to try to get the Baudelaire fortune, he tries to marry Violet by doing a play by Al Funcoot (if you scramble around the letters in Al Funcoot, it makes Count Olaf). But at the end, Violet signs with her left hand, which is not her writing hand, and Olaf's plan is foiled. I think it is an awesome book and a very good read.
Reviewed by Yu, age 10
Submitted July 31st, 2006
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket
star star star star
There are 3 very charming and clever children called Violet the eldest, Klaus, and Sunny the infant. Their parents die in a fire and the three of them have only one so called relative called Count Olaf. He is a very nasty and ungrateful man. And gave the children only 1 dingy and smelly room with only one small bed. He even gave each child such hard chores. Now Count Olaf wanted to get the fortune owned by the three childen. So he did a play and wanted Violet to be his wife. I don't want to give away the ending but it is a great book.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 28th, 2006
The Beguilers by Kate Thompson
star star star star star
This book is about a girl named Rilka who quests to capture a beguiler, fairy-like creatures who lure people to their doom. Rejected by her people and considered crazy, she makes the journey to Cloud Mountain, where chuffies (sort of like dogs in our world, except they are like "sponges" for sorrow, lifting people's moods) go to die, and what she finds there will change her life and her village's life forever. The book starts out a bit slow, and may seem thick, but the whole plot is full of magic and it will leave you kind of dazed as you finish it! You should read it if you like mystery, suspense, and sacrifice.
Reviewed by Ariel, age 11
Submitted June 3rd, 2007
The Bellmaker by Brian Jacques
star star star
This exciting book is part of the Redwall series. I enjoyed it pretty well, though I found parts of it unrealistic - even for fantasy. Urgan Nagru, the feared Foxwolf, who commands a huge rat horde, has set out to find the southern lands. He and his mate, Silvermord, come upon the castle of Gael Squirrelking and sucessfully take over the fortress, imprisoning Gael and his family. Meanwhile, Joseph the Bellmaker is becoming anxious about his warrior daughter and her friend, who have been traveling for four seasons. He is given supernatural help and sets out from Redwall Abbey upon a journey to find them....
Reviewed by Abby, age 13
Submitted May 18th, 2006
The Claidi Journals by Tanith Lee
star star star star star
This series is awesome! It tells the tale of a young girl traveling in her strange world. She journals in her journals, telling us her experiences. She makes many friends and has many nail-biting adventures. These books are amazing!Read them!!! :-)
Reviewed by Isabelle, age 13
Submitted January 6th, 2008
The Dashwood Sisters' Secrets of Love by Rosie Rushton
star star star star
This book was pretty good. It is about 3 sisters named Ellie, Abby, and Georgie. Ellie is the oldest and is 17. She is knw a the practical sister. Abby, 15, is the hott, wild, and daring sister. Georgie is the youngest, 13, and is the daredevil of the family. They all live in the Holly house in London. The book starts out wih it being Georgie's 13th birthday. They all have to go and visit their dad and horrible step-mom, Pandora. They all hate her, because she is a witch to them. Soon after this, when Georgie and her friend Tom are out doing something exciting, Ellie gets a phone call. It says that their father had a heart attack and is in the hospital. He is on the verge of dying. Then everyone but Georgie rushes to the hospital (she's still out with Tom). Then their dad dies and they have to move out of their house and into a little cottege near the ocean. That's when everything starts going wrong for them. Ellie thinks that she may be in love with Pandora's nephew, who already has a girlfriend. Abby tries to get a guy to go out with her new best friend, but her plan backfires and he starts liking her instead. And Georgie, the one who used to never like boys as anything more that somebody to hang out with is expeiencing her first crush. What happens to these big city girls in a small town? Read The Dashwood Sisters' Secrets to love to find out!
Reviewed by Avni, age 13
Submitted August 4th, 2006
The Demon Thief by Darren Shan
star star star star star
Kernel Fleck has been able to see patches of light his whole life. One night, the patches connect and form a window into the demon plane. He then reawakens holding his new brother, Art. As shocked as the parents are, they see no missing child alert for Art and decide to keep him. When another window forms Art is stolen from Kernel. He then follows the demon through the window where he meets Beranabus, a magician searching for the ultimate weapon, the kah-gash. A great read for teenagers. the second in the Demonata series.
Reviewed by Cody, age 15
Submitted December 4th, 2009
The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen
star star star star star
Hannah dreads attending the family's passover seder when her grandparents repeat stories about the holocaust Hannah has heard so many times. When the part of the seder comes to open the door for the Prophet Elijah, Hannah opens the door and is tranpsorted to a Polish village around the year 1943. Hannah knows what to expect when the Nazi's take her and her family away to a camp. She struggles to survive and remember her old life in New York. The horrors of the holocaust sorround Hannah as she follows the footsteps of her grandparents in their struggle to stay alive in camps. Since her grandparents changed there names when they moved to America she has a little bit of trouble uncovering the idenities of the people she knew in New Rochelle and learning about their experiences in concentration camps. This book is somewhat similar to Anne Frank's Diary so I reccomend it for children ages 10 and up as some themes may not bw suitable for younger children. This wonderfully written book pulls together the complicated plot at the end and leaves the reader appreciating the history of the holocaust just like Hannah. Readers can really relate to characters and learn about past adventures. This is a must-read!
Reviewed by Julia, age 13
Submitted July 25th, 2006
The Diary of Melanie Martin: or How I Survived Matt the Brat, Michelangelo, and the Leaning Tower of Pizza by Carol Weston
star star
Written in the format of a diary, this tale about travel is short and fun to read. It is not written especially well, but is an exciting story about traveling. Ten year-old Melanie gets to travel to Italy with her family which includes her annoying brother, Matt the Brat. She gets to miss ten days of school which she thinks is one of the best parts of the trip. That is until her teacher gives her assignment she must complete over the trip. She has to bring back postcards to share, think about her place in the family, and write a poem with no less than 30 lines about her trip. On the trip Melanie struggles to come up with the perfect poem. When she finally gives it a shot, her outcome is a weird poem every one makes fun of. During their trip, Melanie and her Mother learn a few Italian words, and her Mother is sure enough about the language and orders meals in Italian when they go out to eat. To Melanie's suprise, the meal she recieves a baby octupus on her plate looking straight at her! I would recommend this book for kids 11 and under because the themes are mostly appealing to younger children, but anyone traveling or who has traveled to Italy may enjoy reading about the sights and Melanie's experiences.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted July 2nd, 2006
The drum, the doll, and the zombie by John Bellairs
star star star star star
Scary, suspenseful, and well written dialouge, this book, (and others by Bellairs) are amazing.....
Reviewed by Calvin, age 12
Submitted November 20th, 2008
The Earth Dragon Awakes by Laurence Yep
star star star star star
The Earth Dragon Awakes is a book about the San Francisco Earthquake of 1906.It tells the story about two families and how they survive the earthquake.This is a good book becuase it tells about how nice people can be.
Reviewed by Nicholas, age 11
Submitted July 9th, 2006
The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney
star star star star star
This is a wonderful book about a girl who finds her face on a milk carton with a caption titled missing. She starts to wonder whether the parents she has known all her life are really her parents. She recognizes certain parts of the picture and start to suspect different things about her family while trying to survive the life of a teenager. This inspiring story will keep you reading and make you read other books in the series to follow the whereabouts of Janie.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted June 24th, 2006
The Famous Five 1 by Enid Blyton
star star star star star
It is about this three children going to meet their unknown cousin. When they met her she liked to be alone then she becomes nice. She has a island on her own and they find gold in the island and some robbers who tries to steal it.
Reviewed by Jerry, age 12
Submitted July 13th, 2006
The Finder by Margaret Buffie
star star star star star
The Finder, the third book of the Watcher's Quest, is just as good as the second. In this finder's quest Ema finds what she was meant to do and where she belongs. Characters from previous books are back to help and Tom and Ema become closer than ever. This book is a fantastic ending to the trilogy.
Reviewed by Grace, age 15
Submitted June 26th, 2006
The First Riders Call by Kristen Britain
star star star star
If you are looking for a book with romance, action, strong-headed girls this is the book! It is about a girl who runs away from school and finds a man dying on the ground; he was in the Kings service as a Green Rider. When your a Green Rider you will take an arrow for the King.The strong-headed girl takes the dying man gives her and finishes the quest the man had started. I loved this book and probably didnt make it very exciting buts full of andventure
Reviewed by Bryn, age 13
Submitted October 19th, 2009
The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn by Dorothy and Thomas Hoobler
star star star star star
The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn is probably the best mystery I have ever read. Set in Japan, this inspiring tale is about a merchants son named Sekei. Sekei has always wanted to be a samurai, but samurai are born samurai. In other words, because his father wasn't a samurai he couldn't become one. Even though, Sekei still yearned to have the qualities known in those of samurai. Sekei and his father are on their way to Edo to sell tea and stop at an inn to spend the night. That night a crime is taking place and Sekei is one of the witnesses. With the judge Ooka, they set off to follow the path of suspects and Sekei discovers that he has more truth and honor in himself than many samurai. This book is interesting and thought provoking for both girls and boys, even though it may seem from the summary I have provided that there is a lot of violence and elements characterized to boys. The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn is fast paced so from the moment you pick it up, you won't put it down untill you have finished the book.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted June 20th, 2006
The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn by Dorothy and Thomas Hoobler
star star star star
When a valuable jewel gets stolen, the main charachter, Seikei, with the help of judge Ooka set out to find the theif. I love this book because it really got me drawn into it, and personaly, I love books that do that. I think this book was written really well, and the plot was fun. At some points the story got a little violent and it was hard to keep up with the characters, but when I finished the book, I wished the story had never ended.
Reviewed by Ellen, age 10
Submitted June 24th, 2006
The Giver by Lois Lowry
star star star star star
Jonas' world is different. Everything is thought out by the Elders. They choose a job for you, they choose your spouse, and they even choose your children! Soon, Jonas turns 12 years old. That is the age that you are given a job. But Jonas is skipped over! He has been forgotten! Or so it seems. Jonas is the new Receiver of Memories. The old Receiver, who calls himself "The Giver" has to transmit all his memories to Jonas before he is Released to Elsewhere.
Reviewed by Priyanka, age 12
Submitted July 13th, 2006
The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
star star star star star
When twelve-year old Lyra first hears about "Dust", she disregards it without a second thought. Little did she know that that one word would change the course of her life forever. Lyra was a regular tomboy living at Jordan College with her daemon companion, Pantalamion, always by her side. But when her uncle, Lord Asriel, comes to visit, her life at Jordan is shattered. She is thrown into a world where the mysterious Gobblers are stealing children, and where trusted companions turn out to be false. The only thing she knows to be true is the alethiometer, given to her by the Master of the college. She asks it questions and then reads the symbols to find an answer. When her best friend, Roger, goes missing, she joins a group of Gyptians headed to the North, where they think the hidden children might be kept. And through all her daventures, from polar bears to a clan of witches, she is never to know that her actions will decide the fate of her world and the heavens above it. This book is a wonderful read and one of the best fantasy series I can recommend for young adults. I first read it when I was ten, and still love it to this day. It can read by anyone, of any age. Younger children can enjoy the story and the adventures, while older ones can ponder the theological questions it poses. While it is a thick book, it is a fast read, and you will quickly find yourself caught up in Lyra's fast-paced escapades. This warm, funny, daring, and heartbreaking tale will leave the reader enthralled until the very last page.
Reviewed by Katie, age 14
Submitted June 30th, 2007
The Gospel According to Larry by Janet Tashjian
star star star star star
The Gospel According to Larry was a very interesting story, with a lot of suspense. I believe that this was a very good novel. I like Josh’s character the most; he always left you wandering why he did certain things. I also liked how he did things in the story. Peter was kind of the quiet type; he really didn’t contribute much to make the story as good as it was. Beth was also one of my favorite characters who were in this book. She was the character who was real, and told what was up. Betagold was kind of the party pooper, she ruined everything but that’s where the suspense came out in the book. The whole way the story was set up to happen I think was great. The book was in sequential order it told something which lead to another event. This whole story was based on love, identity, trust and personality. The story really gave a lot of detail about what this novel was about. I believe when Betagolds part came into play it really gave the story that spice. The whole break down I think was with Betagold. Things I like about this story were how the story was set up. I believe the author did a good job in putting this story together. I also liked how every persons personality played a roll in what the main idea of the book was. I don’t think Betagold should have did what she did, even though it gave the story suspense I still think it was wrong. I think if she were going to find out who Larry was she should have left the press out of it. I believe this book can be read by any child who likes to read; but mostly by teenagers. Some words are hard to read, and kids might not be understand. I think this story could really happen in real life, I am sure there are someone who feels the way Josh does. This story I would give a 5/5. It was an awesome book. Anyone about to read this story, you are in for a great novel, enjoy it’s a fantastic story.
Reviewed by Brittney Yates, age 13
Submitted April 17th, 2008
The Gospel According To Larry by Janet Tashjian
star star star star
This book is about a boy named Larry, who is also Josh in the story, who had his own website. This website contained Larrys sermons. In these sermons, it talks about the things going on in Larrys life and how he feels about things. Josh, on the other hand, was a person who didnt get along with other people. He only had one friend, Beth, who he also had a crush on. Basically, I feel that this book is about Larry, who wanted to change the world and make the world a better place for everyone.
Reviewed by Eugene, age 14
Submitted May 6th, 2008
The Great Tree of Avalon Book 1 by T.A. Barron
star star star star star
I loved this book. I heard about it at the Teen Book Club and checked it out right away. It has a great storyline, but you do jump from character to character alot. I simply devoured it though. There's adventure, dragons, even a little romance. Overall a great book. All I can say is read it!
Reviewed by Breanna, age 14
Submitted March 1st, 2007
The Gunslinger by Stephen King
star star star star star
A great book by Stephen King. The first in his famous "Dark Tower" series. While it does contain violence and bad language as well as "mature" references, it is still a great book for teenagers and adults alike. A bit of a slow read for the first fifty pages, alot like the "Harry Potter" series, but gets you hooked soon after.
Reviewed by cody, age 15
Submitted December 4th, 2009
The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray by Chris Wooding
star star star star star
Haunting, thrilling, and chilling. This is the perfect book when hoping for a ghost story that will take you into a land where you must always be on the lookout. I loved reading this story - vibrant characters, vivid settings, and a sense of reality. It has some gory details, so may not want to read it if you are scared or feel uncomfortable easily. I had no problems with it, though, and would recommend it to readers of all ages.
Reviewed by Avi, age 12
Submitted January 12th, 2006
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
star star star star star
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, while not originally written for kids, is a thoroughly enjoyable, whimsical book. It is slow to get going, but the beginning is so interesting that it’s good that the story takes longer to get going. Much of the “fact? in the story is borrowed from science-fiction ideas, and that adds another interesting dimension to the story. What with a whimsical plot and characters, fast-paced action, and plenty of surprises, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is sure to be a hit. Oh--and keep an eye out for the number 42!
Reviewed by Galen, age 11
Submitted August 5th, 2006
The Island Stallion by Walter Farley
star star star
this is one of the books in the black stallion series and i think it is the BEST one ever. it is about this boy who joins his uncle on a trip to an undiscovered island which was which a home to the spanish conquistidors. his and his uncle struggle through underground tunnels they find that take them days to complete all to get to the part of the island where the boy, Steve, sees his dream horse, Flame, the island stallion, who owns a large band (herd) of wild mares. when then a stallion comes on to fight him for the band. Flame wins. but seconds later another stallion comes bigger then the last one. Flame fights him but is too tired so he runs off with some serious wounds. Steve, desperate to find "his" horse sets off after him only to find him in an old trp set up by the spaniards and is sinking into the quicksand. steve then find some kind of pulley near the trap and after a long while the stallion is free but has gotten more wounds and making his other once worse in the struggle. Steve then starts to win the trust or the wild stallion and treats him with first aid. the stallion is soon walking toward Steve everytime he comes into his sight and hardly leaves his side. soon enough Steve TRIES TO RIDE HIM!!! all goes well and then nothing can break this bond and he is offered the chance to bring the stallion home after he has fought the horse that took over his herd and wikns it back. Steve of course accepts but then sees how happy the stallion is when he's free as an eagle. and steves decides that he will leave the stallion there but live with his uncle and take many MANY trips to the island that they have kept to themselves.
Reviewed by Alyssa, age 11
Submitted June 15th, 2006
The It Girl by Cecily Von Ziegesar
star star star star star
This book was really goood! It showed you how far Jenny (the main character) would go in her quest to be the It girl. I cant wait to read the sequel, Notorious!
Reviewed by Avni, age 13
Submitted August 4th, 2006
The Janitor's Boy by Andrew Clements
star star star star star
The Janitor’s Boy is a book that, while on the surface, is “just a story,? but carries a very important message for everyone to hear and understand. Jack, the main character, could be any “all-American? kid with some challenges, which makes it very easy to sympathize with him (or any other character—I found that I could understand all of their points of view). Jack’s town, Huntington, has a problem with overcrowded schools, so Jack gets put in the school where his dad, John Rankin, is the janitor. Jack is very embarrassed about this, and he gets teased a lot. At the end, it definitely suggests that, whatever your family problems, you can help, just by doing your best. I would recommend The Janitor’s Boy to everyone.
Reviewed by Galen, age 11
Submitted August 5th, 2006
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
star star
You might be wondering exactly what this book is about, the Joy Luck Club. You may find the title appealing, as did I. Here is how it starts out: There are four members of the Joy Luck Club--An-mei Hsu, Lindo Jong, Ying-ying St. Clair, and Suyuan Woo, one of whom (Suyuan) has died and has been replaced by her daughter. Each of these people tell a few stories about there past (struggles and successes), and later, their daughters tell them a little about their own lives. Jing-Mei, the daughter of Suyuan Woo, soon finds out that she is not the only child of her family--that she, in fact, has older twin sisters, who were abandoned while their mother was escaping the dangers of Kweilin. Now, she sets off to find them, and tell them of their mother, now dead. I do not find this book particularly captivating. After all, it is simply about Chinese women telling people about their history. Some people may find this book appealing, but personally, I would enjoy more action in books, although not too much. This is why I rate this book two stars. Also, there is not much of a storyline, and the first and last chapters could act as the only story, and the book is simply that with some short stories in the middle. I would only recommend this book to people who want to find out a little bit about Chinese mothers in the 1940s and 1950s, as well as a little bit about the opinions of the daughters of these Chinese mothers.
Reviewed by Angela, age 12
Submitted July 5th, 2006
The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Edwards
star star star star star
I really liked this book because it had a magical place and a lot of adventures in it. It felt like I was in the story with Lindy, Tom, and Ben. I can predict a lot of stuff because the author uses really good details. I liked the part when they got to meet the Whangdoodle and the professor made him a female Whangdoodle. If I could meet the professor, I would ask for a twin.
Reviewed by Haruka, age 11
Submitted July 19th, 2006
The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan
star star star star star
I absolutely love this book! Percy and his friends are about to fight the biggest battle in their life. This battle determines whether or not the age of the Gods will remain or if the titan age will begin. I strongly recommend this book to all people who enjoy humor and Greek mythology. Enjoy reading!
Reviewed by Jack, age 10
Submitted June 3rd, 2009
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
star star star star star
The Lightning Thief is a delightful combination of Ancient Greek mythology and a real-world setting (plus some novel twists). Percy, the main character, could be thought of as a typical “all-American? kid, making it natural to sympathize with him and his challenges. Even though The Lightning Thief is part of a series, it makes a great stand-alone book. I recommend The Lightning Thief to anyone who likes mythology stories and/or adventure.
Reviewed by Galen, age 11
Submitted August 5th, 2006
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
star star star star star
This is an awesome book filled with adventure and humor. Explore Greek Mythology with Percy, a hero whose dad is Poseidon. These books are some of my favorites and I highly reccomend them. Read this book!! :-)
Reviewed by Isabelle, age 13
Submitted January 6th, 2008
The Lottery Rose by Irene Hunt
star star star star
The Lottery Rose is a book that I hated until I got to the last 50 pages. The last 50 pages is where the book really started to pull together and I really started to appreciate all that the book had to offer. The Lottery Rose is about a boy named Gorgie Burgess who is abused by his mother and her weird boyfriend. Gorgie is unlike other boys because he loved flowers. One day he bopught a lottery ticket from the grocery market and when he won his prize was a rose bush. He loved his newly acquired possesion. After a very bad accident with his mother's boyfriend, Gorgie is taken far away to a school run by nuns. At this school he learns more about himself and makes his first friends, but because of his past experiences, when he first arrived at the school he only trusted his rose bush. The Lottery Rose finishes the melancholic tale with a surprise ending I could have never expected.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted June 20th, 2006
The Magician's Nephew by C.S. Lewis
star star star star star
The Magician's Nephew was a first-rate book in my opinion. It was the last book I read in the Narnia series and I read it in one day. C.S. Lewis always inpresses me with his creative writing talents and detailed descriptions. He opens up the secret world we always dream of, where animals talk, evils are beaten, and children are always the heroes!!
Reviewed by Lucy, age 11
Submitted June 14th, 2006
The Mediator by Meg Cabot
star star star star star
I like The Mediator series for 3 reasons. 1: It was written by my favorite author. 2: Each book in the series makes you want to pick up the next one. 3: It shows the difficulty of life for people that are different and have to keep it all a secret. I would recommend this series to any girl above the age of 11.
Reviewed by Nandi, age 12
Submitted June 29th, 2006
The million dollar kick by Dan Gutman
star star star star star
Whisper Nelson who has never played socer before gets to take the million dollar kick agaisant a very famous,soccer goal keeper .If she scores she geats a million dollars. Now,only one ity-bity problem,she doesn't even know how to kick a soccer ball!!! Whisper is the most unpopular girl in class with hardly any friends. The book is about how a girl who doen't even know how to kick the a soccer ball wins the million dollar kick with the help of just one friend and a girl from the high school soccer team.This book is HIGHLY recomended.The book taught me a lesson.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 5th, 2006
The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket
star star star
After Aunt Josephine, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny's previous gaurdian died, they had to go work in a lumbermill. Count Olaf, the kid's enemy, and his troupe disguised themselves as every day ordinary people to use hypnosis to make Klaus have "accidents" (by accidents I mean like dropping a object that weighs about a ton on a mans leg.) The boss of the lumbermill didn't want any more accidents so the kids can't go to that lumbermill anymore. Count Olaf thought the kids would go to him, but at the last second, they figured out Count Olaf's disguise and he ran away. It is a really good book and I think everybody should read it sometime.
Reviewed by Yu, age 10
Submitted July 21st, 2006
The Moves Make the Man by Bruce Brooks
star star star star star
If I had one word to describe this story, it would be...amazing. This book is like none other. Conjuring up a story about hoops, lies, and racial integration during the 1960s, the author really engulfs you within its pages. A strong voice narrarates the novel, talking about an experience "spinning light". Feelings are stirred up while dipping into this read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone who likes basketball or wants to be taken away.
Reviewed by Avi, age 12
Submitted December 14th, 2005
The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti
star star star star star
THIS IS A GOOD BOOK. READ NOW!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by Sally, age 13
Submitted July 27th, 2008
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
star star
The Old Man and the Sea is a book I found to be very boring and monotonous. Although I admire Mr. Hemingway's style of writing, the basic plot of this prose story is a man who goes fishing...and that's about it. I would not recommend this book if you are looking for an exciting fisherman's tale.
Reviewed by Mary, age 15
Submitted July 7th, 2006
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemmingway
star star star star
This clasic story is short, but may take longer than the reader expects to finish the book. The story is about an old fisherman who hasn't gotten a good catch in quite a while and sets off to sea. His determination shows when he stays out at sea for a long time with no food and only the salt water from the sea. He is stubborn when a fish catches his line and he tries ever so hard to lift the huge fish into his small boat. After catching the fish, he still has other problems to conquer as the sharks follow the path of the blood all the way to shore. Read this short fishing tale and you will not regret it. For those people who like the "classic" style of writting this is a must-read. Readers will enjoy a mix of contemporary themes as well as themes that remind us of history. The Old Man and the Sea, even though not written recently, discusses issues that are still happening today and might broaden readers perceptions of todays world.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted July 2nd, 2006
The One Left Behind by Willo Davis Roberts
star star star star star
The One Left Behind is an intense and dramatic story where Mandy lives in a world of her own. She can "hear" what sister would say if she was there even though she is dead. When she stumbles upon Zander,which is short for Alexander, and his two year old brother, she learns of their weird and strange troubles. She decides to help them and succeeds. This book is well written and draws you in. It was so good I sat down and read the whole thing in a hour.
Reviewed by anne k., age 11
Submitted August 6th, 2006
The Other Half Of Me by Emily Franklin
star star star star
This a very good book about a girl whose mother got her from a donor and the girl is struggling with her life and half sister.
Reviewed by Bubbles, age 11
Submitted August 25th, 2008
The Outside World by Tova Mirvis
star star star star star
The Outside World is a wonderfully written love story about two Orthodox Jews. The book starts out by telling about two separate people who knew each other when they were young. They then reunite in Israel. There are many complications with this relationship including the fact that their families don’t get along anymore. This book gave me a taste of another culture. While I was reading this book I really felt like I was living an Orthodox Jewish life. This book also held my attention very well. In fact, it was so suspenseful that it only took me a couple days to read.
Reviewed by Erin, age 13
Submitted June 20th, 2006
The Perfect Pony by Michelle Bates
star star star star star
well i am a "Sandy Lane Stables" series lover. but out of all of the books ive read out of the series, which is 7 out of 9, i loved this one the most. I would highly recommend this book to anybody who has that passion for horses as i do. i would also recommend the whole "Sandy lane stables" series. but this particular book is about a boy who bought a pony only to get more money off of her by selling her at the end of the summer, but he grows onto her with a love so deep nothing can part them.
Reviewed by Alyssa, age 11
Submitted June 15th, 2006
The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
star star star star star
I read this book after seeing the movie-musical made in 2004. The book is so much better. This is about a young chorus girl in 19th century France who lives in an opera house. She is haunted by a phantom who loves the sound of her voice. If you want to know more, read the book- it's a masterpiece.
Reviewed by Mary, age 15
Submitted May 11th, 2006
The Princess & the Pauper by Kate Brian
star star star star star
Told from two different points of view, The Princess & the Pauper is about two opposite girls--Carina, the princess of Vineland, and Julia, a regular girl (regular except for the fact that she is about to be homeless if her family cannot pay the bills). Carina visits Julia's school one day, and they meet in the bathroom. This is where the adventure begins. Carina wants to meet a "friend" in a band that she met via email in L.A., and after realizing how alike they (Carina and Julia) are, she decides that she is willing to trade places with Julia for a day, just to meet Ribbit. But disaster strikes. Ribbit is on the way to Texas for his next performance, and Carina is left at a rest stop! What will happen next? Kate Brian has developed the idea of trading places very thoroughly, keeping the reader interested with all the action and suspense. I would recommend this book to everyone!
Reviewed by Angela, age 12
Submitted August 4th, 2006
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
star star star star star
This is a great book for teenage girls who are looking for a romantic story with a twist. If you love Mia, keep reading the series. A new book is coming out in March, which will be volume 7 of this magnificent series.
Reviewed by Mary, age 14
Submitted January 23rd, 2006
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
star star star star star
Mia Thermoplis is a normal teenage girl. Who once in a while flunks algebra. Otherwise she is any other teenage girl you will see. She is not too smart and not too stupid. Until one day her father tells her that she is the next heir to a small country in Europe called Genovia. In other words she is the next princess to Genovia. Suprisingly!! she is definitely not princess material. She really gets the shock of her life. She doesn't wants to be princess. She tries her best not for nobody to find out. Until one day her face is on every cover of a magazine and newspaper. The book was superb and the best I have ever seen. I totally loved it. I don't want to give away what happens but trust me it was totally awesome.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 16th, 2006
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
star star star star
Mia is pretty much a normal highschool girl but then her Grandma comes to town and reveals that shes a princess! Mia does not really want to be a princess, but her mom also is dating her Algebra teacher, so she just has to learn to adjust. this is a great book because its funny, and its unrealistic and realistic at the same time.
Reviewed by Camilla, age 11
Submitted June 13th, 2006
The Ravenmaster's Secret by Elvira Woodruff
star star star star
Forrest and his father, the Ravenmaster, are the only ones in England that respect the ravens for their intelligence. Everything is normal until three 'Rebel Scots' are arrested. Forrest's family is assigned to guard the young girl, Maddie. Forrest soon develops a friendship with Maddie. Everything changes when Maddie is sentenced to death. Will Forrest have the courage to save her?
Reviewed by Jessica, age 12
Submitted June 13th, 2007
The Realm of Possibility by David Levithan
star star star star star
The Realm of Possibility is the humorous, touching, and meaningful story of twenty teens at the same high school whose thoughts, experiences, and relationships are all interconnected. Told in free-verse poems and narratives, each student's unique perspective shines through as they reveal to the reader their deepest secrets. Life for them is sometimes exhilirating and sometimes a complete mess, but they overcome challenges with each other's help. Not only is this a fascinating, moving, and extremely well-written book, but it talks about so many important issues, from problems with family and friendships to eating disorders, peer pressure and sexuality. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a book that will entertain, sadden, inspire, and open your eyes. Remember - life has infinite possibilities.
Reviewed by Amy, age 14
Submitted July 17th, 2006
The Report Card by Andrew Clements
star star star star
Andrew Clements must have had alot on his mind when he wrote this controversial story that questions authority figures, teachers, principals and other people with power. It makes you think twice about grades, tests. and homework. You feel Nora's need to be normal as you read this good bookabout leadership, authority and true friends.
Reviewed by anne k., age 11
Submitted August 6th, 2006
The Report Card by Andrew Clements
star star star star
Nora is a genius. But she never has shown it. She tries her best to be like any other kid but 'unfortunately' her teacher finds out that at the age of 11 her IQ is 188!!. Wow!! Big surprise. All teachers decide to put her in gifted class. So finally Nora gives up being a normal kid and goes into gifted group. It was a great book and I wish I was Nora.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 4th, 2006
The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket
star star star
This story is about three kids who stay with their Uncle Monty, because Count Olaf burned down their house. Count Olaf wants the three kids', Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire's, fortune, so he disguises himself as Stephano to try to get the fortune. The Baudelaires and Uncle Monty were going to Peru, but Count Olaf a.k.a Stephano killed Uncle Monty and took his ship ticket to Peru. But at the last second, the kids figured out Count Olaf and on of Olaf's comrades came and whisked him away. I think it is a really good book that everybody should read.
Reviewed by Yu, age 10
Submitted July 31st, 2006
The Reptile Room (Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket
star star star star star
Violet, Sunny and Klaus have to move to another guardian but this guardian is very nice he is called Uncle Monty. Uncle Monty is an extremely nice person he gave the childen their own rooms whatever they liked. Now Uncle Monty is a scientist and was in need of an asssitant and that assistant is called Stephno but it was really Coun Olaf in disgise. Count Olaf wants to get the childrens fortune. Count Olaf even kills Uncle Monty. I really don't feel like giving away the ending as I say it ia an excellent book and certainly worth reading.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted August 3rd, 2006
The Schernoff Discoveries by Gary Paulsen
star star star
The main theme of The Schernoff Disocveries is friendship, but Paulsen intertwines other events to entertain readers. 14-year-old Harold Schernoff is the science whiz. With his best friend, they attempt ot come up with theories about how to solve all of their wants, needs and problems: they want to get a car and get difficult jobs to raise money, they struggle to be athletic like other boys, they try to resist the pressure of dating, and try to defend themselves against bullies. Only Harold would perform experiments to find x-ray vision to look at girls. This humorous story will keep you reading!
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted July 5th, 2006
The Sea of Monsters by Riordan, Rick
star star star star
This is a book for someone who loves humor and a lot of creature action. It is about Percy, a boy who is a Halfblood, which means he is half greek god and half human. This book includes quests, fights, a ton of creatures, and humor. I think you should read this because it is interesting how they mix legend with real life.
Reviewed by Atticus, age 11
Submitted June 24th, 2006
The Second Summer Of The Sisterhood by Ann Brashares
star star star star star
This book, the sequel of "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants", is about four best friends who spend the second summer apart. They all have very different adventures, but all interesing. I highly reccommend this book.
Reviewed by Andrea, age 13
Submitted July 7th, 2006
The Seeker by Margaret Buffie
star star star star star
The Seeker, the second book in the Watcher's Quest, was an excellent book. I thought it was better than the first. This book takes you to several different worlds and the characters added along the way are all fun and interesting. Ema learns a little more about her special powers with Tom's help as they embark on a seeker's quest to find Ema's mother's real child. this book will keep you interested from page one.
Reviewed by Grace, age 15
Submitted June 26th, 2006
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
star star star star star
Can there be six stars? I mean this is a wonderful novel. I absolutely loved this book. It was so funny and perceptive that I like had to read it another time. If you are bored and looking for a great book you have to read this one!
Reviewed by Maryam, age 13
Submitted July 30th, 2009
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
star star star star star
There are four girls and they go to the clothes store. They thought it would be a good idea for them to have magical pants that go all around the world to visit all of the girls. So they sent it to all of them as soon as they got back they check how everybodys summer came along then they went to a wedding and they could not fit all of them so that person just wore pants and a shirt.
Reviewed by remy, age 10
Submitted June 15th, 2006
The Skin I'm In by Sharon G. Flake
star star star star star
A debut first novel, this book tells a story like never before. Thirteen year old Maleeka is teased about her dark skin all the time. She deals with it, and tries to fit in. But life's never easy, especially as a new teacher with a new viewpoint moves into school. Adding to her struggles, Maleeka and her mom are still learning to cope with he father's death. Maleeka struggles with peer pressure, bullying, name-calling, schoolwork, drab clothes, and much more as she learns to see herself through her own eyes. This is an amazing book. I loved it, and hope that all readers gain as much from it as I did. I would definitely recommend it to all readers, especially those who are struggling similarly to Maleeka.
Reviewed by Avi, age 12
Submitted July 3rd, 2006
The Skin I'm In by Sharon G. Flake
star star star star
The Skin I'm In is a very realistic book in that the characters are so much like the people we meet every day. Very good connections can be made between this book and your life. Read it.
Reviewed by Hannah, age 12
Submitted June 14th, 2006
The Skull of Truth by Bruce Coville
star star star star star
Slightly whimsical and silly, and yet still depicting reality and true circumstances, The Skull of Truth will be a good book for ones who are seeking the truth and its consequences-or just looking for a good laugh. The story beggins with a boy named Charlie, who lies about everything. He can't help it; apparently he "opens his mouth and a big whopper pops out". So when he turns upon a mysterious magic shop belonging to a man name Mr. Elives sporting an interesting skull of truth, he has a sudden feeling that he must take it. But Mr. Elives sends him a message warning him of the skull's dangers, as Charlie soon finds out. Nothings wrong with the skull itself. The ghastly, thing, named Yorick, loved to tell jokes and was very talkative. But as Charlie learns, he also brings a curse that whatever happens, he must always tell the truth. Good, but also incredibliy dangerous. Now, after he's finally got around to tellng the truth, Charlie must find a way to get rid of the skull before the truth gets the better of him. This book is good at showing different points of truth: how it can be an advantage, or painful.
Reviewed by Li, age 12
Submitted June 17th, 2006
The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson
star star star star
I could not put this book down. When i look back at the book i cant see why i thought it was so great but something about it got me hooked. The front cover shows alot of what happens in the book so its fun to look back at it and relate to it. Try it!
Reviewed by aubrie, age 11
Submitted July 6th, 2006
The Summer Sherman Loved Me by Jane St. Anthony
star star star star star
One night, when Margaret is sleeping on the porch, her neighbor calls out to her. After taking a moonlight bike ride, she is not sure how she feels. Her mother dissaproves of boys. To top it all off, she has twin sisters, one of whom gets lost, an annoying younger brother, and Sherman has a baby squirrel named Little Margaret. It's a touching story about family and love.
Reviewed by Priyanka, age 12
Submitted July 15th, 2006
The Tail of Emily Windsnap by Liz Kessler
star star star star star
This book is is about a 10-16 year old girl who is half human half mermaid , which is against the rules. Her family faces difficulties with her parents and the fact that mermaid rules make it illegal to be 1/2 1/2.
Reviewed by Lauren, age 10
Submitted April 4th, 2009
The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
star star star star star
"The world is dark, and light is precious..." So begins The Tale of Despereaux. It is about one strange and yet extraordinary mouse, armed with just a needle, red thread, and love. The mouse Despereaux Tilling, who dreams of a fairy tale where a knight in shining armor saves a beautiful maiden, a mouse who adores beauty, is one day drawn straight into the Princess Pea's room by the music that her father plays – and immediately falls in love. It is about perfidy, as the other mice learn of this, and quickly decide that he must be sent to the dungeon, even his own father. Mice are not to appear before humans. Period. But with the help of his love for stories, he manages to escape the death of rats awaiting him. It is about one particular vengeful rat named Chiaroscuro, nicknamed Roscuro, who has a dark plot to kidnap the Princess Pea. It is about a blunt cauliflowered-eared girl named Miggory Sow, nicknamed Mig, who has a magnificent dream, and is being used as a prop for Roscuro's plan. And it is about illegal soup. So will Despereaux save the Princess Pea? Will Miggory's wish come true? And what of Roscuro’s end? Will there be a happy ending for all, as Despereaux's fairy tale claims?
Reviewed by Li, age 12
Submitted June 17th, 2006
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
star star star star
I really enjoyed this book. It had a really great plot line and characters. It also seemed really real. Like it could happen to anyone. Macy Queen is spending her summer at the library information desk. Her co-workers aren't the nicest people. She hated her job. She started a new job, in addition to the library job, at Wish Catering. It changes her life. I suggest this book to anyone who doesn't mind reading 'over' a few cuss words throughout the book.
Reviewed by Jessica, age 11
Submitted June 18th, 2006
The Twenty One Mile Swim by Matt Christopher
star star star star
The Twenty~One~Mile Swim is a terrific book because it holds determination, problems, and courage. Joey was just a simple kid who moved to a house by the lake. He met a nice girl, but a mean boy. Joey didn't know how to swim, but since he got teased by the boy, Ross, he decided to do a great feat. Swim the length of the lake, twenty one miles. Matt Christopher really put thought into created this book as he hit feelings, thoughts, and words right on the dot.
Reviewed by Bill, age 12
Submitted July 19th, 2006
The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene du Bois
star star star star star
The Twenty-One Balloons is about a man named Professor Sherman who tries to go around the earth in a hot-air balloon house, but is stranded on an island with some other families. They have some strange customs there. But what excites Professor Sherman the most, are the enormous diamond mines. Will the professor ever escape the island, or learn to fit in?
Reviewed by Hannah, age 12
Submitted June 16th, 2006
The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine
star star star star star
This book never gets old. It's about two sisters, one is scared of everything (Addie) and one is brave (Meryl.) But when Meryl develops the Gray Death, Addie has to find enough courage to go on a quest to find the cure for the Gray Death, which has been searched for for centuries and never found.
Reviewed by Ariel, age 11
Submitted June 3rd, 2007
The Ugly Princess and the Wise Fool by Margaret Gray
star star star star star
The Ugly Princess and the Wise Fool is a humorous fairy tale about a princess who is very ugly. Then there is a wise man who wants to save a kingdom from ignorance. He goes to the kingdom where Rose lives and auditions to be a fool who can perform handstands. Rose the ugliest princess in all the land meets Jasper (the fool) and they become best friends.Everything goes great until she turns 16 and sees Prince Parley.Now the only thing that she wants is to become beautiful with the help of a fairy godmother but soon she finds out that Prince Parley is just not for her. And now she wants to become her old self and to do that she has to take a test and a quest before Prine Parley comes to marry him.Jasper helps her with that and soon she finds out that he is a wise man and she loves him so after they finish the test and the quest she goes back to the kingdom and marries Jasper and they live happily ever after. It was a great book and definately worth reading.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 13th, 2006
The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythical Creatures by Colin Dempsey
star star star star
I chose this book to read because I love mythology. So when I saw this book, I had to get it. I really liked how Colin Dempsey wrote this book to give you an in depth view of what these mythological creatures looked like and what these mythological creatures did. He includes the opinions of experts from many different people from around the world. I recommend this book to any one who enjoys myths and would like to get a better idea of the creatures in them or to someone looking for a reference book with outstanding drawings.
Reviewed by Jonah, age 10
Submitted June 22nd, 2006
The Wanderer by Sharon Creech
star star star star star
The first time that I read The Wanderer, I was entranced. It was the first Sharon Creech book that I had ever read and it really got me hooked. It was a bit confusing for a 6 year old but I got a-hang of it. The book is two different logs of two cousins that go on a boating trip to Europe to see Bompie (a.k.a. grandpa) and Sophie, (one of the cousins) is an orphan.
Reviewed by Helen, age 11
Submitted June 21st, 2006
The Wanderer by Sharon Creech
star star
I found this book to be very boring and it not being able to get to the point. It is also very long and tiresome to read. I guess it would have been more interesting if it were me in the book but I don't the there was enough detail for me to imagine that I was actually in the book. Well I definitely don't suggest this for a book project because that's what I used it for and it didn't turn out that great. Well thanks for actually taking the time to read this.
Reviewed by Lainersz!, age 13
Submitted September 24th, 2006
The Watcher by Margaret Buffie
star star star star
It was a good book, but it was a little weird. Ema lives on a bee farm with her family. Ever since she was very young she has felt an overwhelming need to watch over them. When her eccentric father begins to create his newest piece of art in a nearby field, the weather begins to act strangely. She begins to have dreams of weird places with thick forests and purple sand, and some strangers move into town. If you like stories about strange powers, people, and worlds this would be a good read.
Reviewed by Grace, age 16
Submitted June 26th, 2006
The Watsons Go to Burmingham by Christopher Paul Curtis
star star star star star
there are four kids and one of the kids constantly keeps on messing with matches so his mother said "the next time you play with matches I will burn your hand off". and she was so close to burn his hand and so his sister kept blowing it out because she was so worried. Then he learned a lesson
Reviewed by Remy, age 10
Submitted June 15th, 2006
The Wide Window (Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket
star star star star star
This is another unfortunate story of the three Bauldlaire children Violet,Sunny and Klaus. They are sent to another relative called Aunt Josephine. Now, Aunt Josephine is scared of allmost everything like she is scared of turning on the the stove or picking up the phone. One day while Aunt Josephine and the three Bauldlaire were shopping they meet somebody called Captain Sham who is really Count Olaf in disguise. Aunt Josephine thinks that Captain Sham is very nice but the children know that he is not. That night while eating dinner which was chilled cucumber soup the phone rings and the children encourage Aunt Josephine to pick it up and she does aftter that the children go upstairs while Aunt Josephine was still talking on the phone the next thing the children knew that Aunt Josephine was dead and she had left a note that had said the children were to be left in the care of Captain Sham but soon they found out that there was a secret message in the note. So when they get to Aunt Josephine through the message they want to bring her back since she is the only hope but on their way back but Aunt Josephine gets thrown off the board by Captain Sham and the Bauldlaire children get sent to another relative.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted August 4th, 2006
The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce
star star star star
Continuing the story of the Sandry, Tris, Briar and Daja (from the Circle of Magic and Circle Opens) series, this exciting fantasy adventures follows the four mages to Sandry's homeland where the powerful empress tries to make them stay.
Reviewed by karin
Submitted November 3rd, 2005
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
star star star star star
This book is full of the hilarious and touching adventures of the Water Rat, the Mole, the Toad, the Badger, and many more wonderful animal characters. Some events include the Toad's obsession with motorcars, so much that he goes and steals one. It is definitely a classic, and one that everyone is recommended to read. I loved it, and you will too!
Reviewed by Priyanka, age 12
Submitted June 20th, 2006
The Wish by Gail CArson Levine
star star star star star
When Wilma offers an old lady a seat on the bus, she didn't expect to be granted a wish. So she tells the old lady what she wants, to be the most popular kid at Cleaverford Junior High School, not expecting it to come true. Wilma gets off the bus and a car dives past, splashing her with muddy water. She walks in to school. Immediately Artis, the most popular girl, rushes over to her and helps her dry off. So does Suzanne, a girl who thinks she's popular. Suddenly she is part of the popular group and hads 42 invitations to the Grad Night Dance, a dance celebrating the graduation of the students. The phone also is consistently ringing. Wilma loves it. But then Wilma realizes that next year she won't be in Claverford and that her wish was to be the most popular only at Claverford. It is a thrilling tale about Wilma and her attempts to fit in and be liked by everyone.
Reviewed by Carey, age 11
Submitted June 27th, 2006
The Wish List by Eoin Colfer
star star star star
This story was violent and a little creepy. It's about a girl who is sent back to earth after she dies in a gas tank explosion. She couldn't go to heaven or hell because her good deeds equal her bad ones. I think it was a very interesting read.
Reviewed by Nandi, age 12
Submitted July 31st, 2006
The wizard, the witch, and two girls from Jersey by Lisa Papademetriou
star star star star star
This is a funny story about two girls that get zapped into a fantasy book while fighting in Barnes and Nobles. Every thing goes completely wrong the minute the real heroine is smashed to bits within 30 minutes of the girls' arrival. As they trek through the story(while messing even more things up along the way) accompanied by a weak wizard, a short elf,and an annoying talking squirrel, the two girls become close friends . What really made me laugh about the story was the fact that so much Lord of The Rings is mixed in, along with others. I really recommend this book for a good read, even if you're not into fantasy.
Reviewed by Nandi, age 13
Submitted June 27th, 2007
The Wright 3 by Blue Balliet
star star star star
The main characters Petra, Tommy and Calder are trying to save the Robie house. The Robie house is a famouse house that is very old built by Frank Lloyd Wright. He was a famouse architect and there was always something special about his houses. The Robie House was designed for kids and made to have lots of playing space for kids. The house was almost demolished because it was so old but Frank Wright saved it twice. Petra, Tommy and Calder work very hard to save this house and with all the coincidences they save the house and lots of fortunate events happened.
Reviewed by Linda, age 12
Submitted July 3rd, 2006
There's a boy in a girl's bathroom by Louis Sachar
star star star star star
Bradley Chalkers doesn't have any friends.He is the oldest boy in the whole fifth grade. In school he sits on the last seat last row.Nobody in school likes him except his school counselor Carla Davis. Even his teacher says he has behavior problems. Carla is the only one who thinks Bradley can change and he does.I loved this book very much. It was totally awesome.
Reviewed by Arushi, age 11
Submitted July 12th, 2006
Things Left Unsaid by Stephanie Hemphill
star star star
This book is about a girl named Sarah who has a normal life: she gets good grades, wears nice clothes, has a great friend. At least, until she meets Robin, who throws her life off track in an awful way via black clothes, negativity, destructiveness, and smoking. Sarah falls deep into Robin's pit of life, until Robin tries to fix the pit by doing something utterly awful and extinguishing. While Robin is recovering, Sarah also recovers, emerging from the experience as some of her old self but changed entirely. The story is in poems, making bad choices, recovery, and strength come to its extreme point in writing, which is the simple statement of facts not subtly underlined in a story (however, also detailed in emotion), but put out for everyone to stare at and think, "This HAPPENED."
Reviewed by Ariel, age 11
Submitted June 3rd, 2007
Things Left Unsaid: A Novel in Poems by Stephanie Hemphill
star star star star
Things Left Unsaid is the story of good-girl Sarah, a straight-A student with loving parents and acceptable friends. Soon, however, the pressure of perfection becomes suffocating, and come junior year Sarah is eager to drop her "goody-goody" image. That's when she meets Robin: the black-clothed, smoking, partying rebel who is nothing like herself, or so she thinks. As Sarah begins spending more and more time with Robin, her grades start to slip and she starts avoiding her other friends. Then something happens to Robin that changes everything Sarah thought she knew. Will Sarah recover from her slip into darkness? Will her friendship with Robin survive the trauma? Read this stunning novel to find out.
Reviewed by Amy, age 14
Submitted June 24th, 2006
Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements
star star star star
Bobby is already pretty much a no one. Whether it's at his private lab school, or in public, no one pays much attention to him. But one day, as he steps out of his shower, he realizes he's not there. Literally. He's invisible. And that's just too much. Now his parents tells him that no one is allowed to know, or else the police, the FBI, even the government will be all over the case. But Bobby can't resist, and when he bumps into a girl, whom he realizes with shock is blind, he feels an urge to tell her everything. And he does. But after a few weeks, his parents are being suspected of "suspicious circumstances of a missing child", despite his mom's clever efforts, despite his dad's smart moves. If Bobby doesn't reappear after five days, his parents are going to jail. Now Bobby and his new blind friend, Alicia, and own their families must figure out a way to make him visible to the human eye again. Or else...
Reviewed by Li, age 12
Submitted June 17th, 2006
This Place Has No Atmosphere by Paula Danziger
star star star star star
This book is about a girl named Aurora. It is the year 2057 and she has good friends, a great school, and a fantastic grandmother. Life is good. Then her parents tell her that they are going to move to the mooon and be pioneers! On the moon, Aurora struggles to fit in at her new school,and tries to build a better relationship with her parents. I recommend this book!!
Reviewed by Liberty, age 12
Submitted July 7th, 2006
Timeline by Michael Chriton
star star star star star
Some students from Yale are studying an ancient castle in Dordogne when they find a note from the professor requesting help – dating back to 1375. When a worker appears at the site and claims she can help, four students are chosen: Kate, brave and clever, Chris, a 17 year old who is used to the modern world and easy living, Andre Marek, who is fascinated by the past, and Stern, a smart nerd just there to be close to his girlfriend. They are taken to ITC company headquarters by a woman named Diane Kramar and a man named Gordon. There, the boss, Doniger, explains the concept of quantum technology to them, where you can travel between the infinite universes that are so closely similar, but are created at different times. Stern chooses to stay behind as Kate, Chris, and Marek travel to the European 1375. But they soon discover that the fourteenth century can unleash unsuspecting dangers. The moment they arrive, both their guides are killed by a strange and vicious black knight, damaging the machines that will carry them back in the process. Stern and the others at ITC struggle to fix it with 36 hours on the clock before Kate, Chris, and Marek are forever stuck in the past. Meanwhile, the students trapped in 1375 must make it on their own around the perils of a world totally unknown to them and find the professor – before it’s too late.
Reviewed by Li, age 12
Submitted June 17th, 2006
Tithe by Holly Black
star star star star star
Kaye's life is hectic, and seeing faeries makes it even worse. But when she goes out of her way to help an amazingly handsome faery named Rath Roiben Rye, things begin to explain themselves. Her faery friends tell her that every year, during tithe, the Unseelie court, the slightly more evil side of the ruling power, are to sacrifice a human so that the faeries remain under their power. And, this time, it is Rath Roiben Rye who must pick who must be sacrificed. And, unsurprisingly, he chooses her. But it's what her faery friends have planned. Because Kaye isn't human. Having a hidden sense of dark humor, and being slightly romantic, Tithe is just a good read for those who are looking for a completely new perspective of magic, and what it can hold.
Reviewed by Li, age 12
Submitted June 30th, 2006
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
star star star star
This is a book I was given to read in school for my English class. Before I even started it, I expected it to be like all of the other books I have read in school- boring, stuffy, and hard to understand. How wrong I was. This is an inspiring tale of the South that really interested me. I would recommend this book to girls, since the narrator is one, which took me a while to figure out.
Reviewed by Mary, age 15
Submitted April 25th, 2006
Torn Thread by Anne Isaacs
star star star star star
This book was definitely one I would recommend to anyone. The book had a combination of many wonderful features including great writing, and interesting plot, and accurate historical facts to support the story. It is about a girl named Eva Buchinbinder who is working at concentration camp. Eva is a Jew and with her sister they attempt to escape from their world of terror, but instead get captured and brought to a camp. In between their tiny meals, Eva's sister is frequently getting sick. Through hard times, Eva survives, but when you compare her life before the Nazi's came and her life after, the change, you'll see is drastic. This story is a tale similar to Anne Frank, but also includes more than the emotional aspect of life near the Nazi's as a Jew, but much more.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted April 12th, 2006
Trouble at Fort La Pointe by Kathleen Ernst
star star star
It is set in 1732. Suzette is a Metis (may-tee) which is both French and Ojibwe. The mystery begins when someone carves a hole in Papa's canoe! This book was fun to read. I recommend it.
Reviewed by Jessica, age 11
Submitted June 26th, 2006
ttfn by lauren myracle
star star star star star
This sequel is an amazing story about the lives of three best friends, Angela, Maddie, and Zoe. Entirely written in Instant Messages, it a a well-written book that relates to teenage life. Angela receives some news that could change all of their lives and Zoe, the shy one, tries to keep a secret from Angela. Maddie goes wild and her two best friends get worried about her. I couldn't stop reading to see if they would stay friends or not. I love this book, but first you should read "TTYL" the first book.
Reviewed by Carey, age 11
Submitted June 27th, 2006
ttfn by Lauren Myracle
star star star star
This book is pretty good, in instant messaging type. It's about three girls who pull through a year of life with each other. They get into really bad situations but, together, try to fix them. I really want to read the last book in the series!
Reviewed by Ariel S., age 12
Submitted June 26th, 2007
ttyl by Lauren Myracle
star star star star star
ttyl was a great book !!!!! i thought it was awesome because it was all written in IM. the characters were cool though because there lives were interesting but not to outta there! i enjoyed reading this book and you should read it too. angela, maddie, and zoe are the main characters. Angela is fun and peppy, but she has a problem with a guy in this book that gets her into the slumps. Maddie is sort of the tough one, but in this book she gets cought up in this popularity thing and ends up getting laughed at by the whole school. Zoe is the good girl of the group, but in this book she gets caught up with this sick minded teacher. i think u should read this book!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by Ruby, age 12
Submitted July 4th, 2006
TTYL by Lauren Myracle
star star star star
TTYL (talk to u later) is all in im format. three girls, SnowAngel (angela) madmaddie (maddie) and zoegirl (zoe) go through a wirl wind of 10th grade. is zoe's teacher really soft on her? will angela ever find true love? and is maddie really what she showes? find out in TTYL! i think it was a great book!
Reviewed by Jessica, age 11
Submitted July 30th, 2006
ttyl by Lauren myracle
star star star star
Maddie, Zoe, and Angela are begining 10th grade and promise school won't let them down. The whole story is in IM form. Many events happen. Angela's boyfriend cheats on her and they break up. Maddie was tricked into getting drunk. Zoe's teacher is hitting on her. They are good friends and get through it all. Maddie just got her driver's license and the 3some are planning a trip to Cumberland Island over Thanksgiving break.
Reviewed by Linda, age 12
Submitted July 1st, 2006
ttyl by Lauren Myracle
star star star
Written entirely in IM's this teen tale is a funny, light-hearted story about three best friends. These 10th graders promise to each other whatever happens in 10th grade, they will stay friends forever. Angela, Maddie, and Zoe struggle with pressures of teens and learn to deal with the problems that come with friendship. I would reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys friendship stories, but especially for girls over the age of 10.
Reviewed by Julia, age 12
Submitted July 8th, 2006
Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
star star star star star
This book was the best!!!!! I loved it! Read it now!
Reviewed by Jenny, age 13
Submitted August 14th, 2009
Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
star star
I know everyone else loves this book, but I did not. My friends had recommended it to me, so I agreed to read it, but soon discovered that I was not enjoying it. The writing style was too intense for me; it seemed as if it was always dark and cold. Also, this book did not hold my interest very well. The main character, Bella, was always talking to either herself or to Edward, another important character. It seemed as if there was little action until the end of the book, because Twilight mainly consisted of thinking and talking. Overall, I found his book to be somewhat boring with a sense of darkness that made me not enjoy this book.
Reviewed by Liz, age 13
Submitted December 28th, 2008
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
star star star star star
This series has to be almost as amazing as Harry Potter. It is about Bella, an average seventeen year old girl who moves to a small town, Forks, to live with her father. She begins a normal life, but it all tumbles down when she meets Edward Cullen. He and his family are inhumanly beautiful. Bella finds herself falling head over heels for Edward. But there is something different about Edward and his family and Bella must figure it out. This book is captivating and impossible to put down. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed by Taylor, age 16
Submitted July 16th, 2008
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
star star star star star
I love this book!!!!You should really read it!!! You can also watch the movie when it comes out in December 12 2008!!!....read it...NOW!!!!
Reviewed by Aneeta, age 12
Submitted August 8th, 2008
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
star star star star star
Twilight is about a teenager named Bella who visits her dad in a town called Forks. At school she meets a guy named Edward Cullen. There is obviously something strange about Edward and the Cullens, was it that they were all extremely beautiful? Or is it because he saved her life in impossible situations. Later Bella figures out what the Cullens really are. The good thing about this book is that there are three more books to the Twilight Saga. New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn
Reviewed by Onnew, age 13
Submitted August 13th, 2008
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
star star star star star
Twilight is probably one of the best books I have ever read. It is the story of a human and vampire in love. This is not just any old book. It is amazing and it sucks you in. I have read all the Twilight books 6 times each at least. the movie is also amzing. ps. I LOVE EDWARD CULLEN 4EVER
Reviewed by Hannah, age 14
Submitted March 7th, 2009
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
star star star star star
I loved this book so much i wished it could have been longer it was so romantic. It is about a girl named Bella who is in love with a vampire.
Reviewed by June, age 11
Submitted April 28th, 2009
twilight by stephenie meyer
star star star star star
So romantic suspenseful and filled with action <3 it.
Reviewed by Becka, age 13
Submitted September 21st, 2009
Twins by Marcy Dermansky
star star star star
Gripping and disturbing, Twins is an unlikely page-turner that tells the compelling and often strange story of identical twin sisters who seem to have it all, but in reality have nothing. Chloe and Sue are the blond, beautiful, and envied daughters of two wealthy and successful lawyers, but they might as well have been orphaned for all the attention their parents pay to them. Their family life is not helped by the presence of their sarcastic older brother Daniel or the family dog they are responsible for, Daisy. The twins have been best friends all through childhood, but as they grow older, Chloe (the older and seemingly perfect twin) finds herself wanting friends of her own. Sue is desperate not to be left behind by the sister she both worships and resents, so she convinces them to get matching tattoos to prove they will always be a part of each other. What follows is their story over the next five years as they survive adolescence tormented by drugs, eating disorders, unlikely sexual encounters, and an unhappy home life. Will Chloe and Sue grow together or apart? Read this humorous and heartbreaking novel to find out.
Reviewed by Amy, age 14
Submitted June 24th, 2006

Search this Site