The Power of the Prize: 5 Years of the Crook’s Corner Book Prize.

The fifth annual Crook’s Corner Book Prize honors a debut novel set in the American South. The winner of the Prize is Stephen O’Connor, author of <em>Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings</em>. Read more about <a href=”” target=”_blank”>the Book Prize award winner here</a>.

O’Connor, who receives $5,000 and a free glass of wine at Crook’s Corner every day for a year, will speak here at the library on Tuesday, January 9th at 7:00 p.m. as part of a panel discussion that centers on the significant impact of the prize for the winning authors. Panelists include:

  • Jamie Fiocco of Flyleaf Books
  • Katie Baer, one of the people who read all of the books on the long list of entries
  • Elizabeth Cox, the judge of this year’s prize
  • Matthew Griffin, the author who won the prize in 2017
  • Stephen O’Connor, 2018 prize winner and author of <em>Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Heming</em>

Copies of the 2018 Crook’s Corner Book Prize winner will be available for purchase and signing.

Curious who will be our guest author? All we can say is it will be either are Stephen O’Connor for Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings, Annie Hartnett for Rabbit Cake, or Nicholas Mainieri for The Infinite.

  • January 9, 2018
    7:00 pm - 8:15 pm
    - Meeting Room B